MINUTES OF THE DICKSON COUNTY COMMISSION

The Dickson County Commission met February 20, 2024 at 7:00 P.M. for the Regular Scheduled meeting in the Buford L. (Booty) Reed Jr. County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Administration Building, 4 Court Square, Charlotte, Tennessee. Flag salute led by Chairman, County Mayor, Bob Rial. Devotion led by Commissioner Ray Ledger.

Roll Call: County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Present: Randy Simpkins Ray Ledger

Dwight McIllwain Stacey Batey

James C. Dawson Becky Spicer

Carl Buckner Jody Britt

Danny Williams Rusty Grove

Cindi Gray

Absent: Mike Petty

Motion by Commissioner Stacey Batey, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to accept and approve the **January 16, 2024** County Commission minutes passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

"Public Comments" None

Appointments:

1. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer. Second by Commissioner Ray Ledger to approve the reappointments of Ms. Margaret Martindale, Ms. Sara-Ann Jones and Mr. Chip Miller to the Sheriff's Civil Service Board passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Committee Reports:

1. Commissioner Randy Simpkins spoke regarding a Newsletter from UT Extension regarding our **4H** information. Highland Rim is hiring for positions.

"Public Hearings"

- 1. R-3 Residential District Revisions-No one here to speak for or against "Public Hearing"
- 2. Amendment to **Article 4, Section 4.016**, Queuing Requirements for Drive-Through Facilities-No one here to speak for or against "Public Hearing"
- 3. Amendments to **Article 3, Article 5 & Article 8** for Renewal Energy Facilities-no one here to speak for or against "Public Hearing"
- 4. Amendments to **Article 3, Section 3.110**, Landscaping & Buffer Strips. This amendment has been taken off the agenda due to wordage. It will be presented at a later date.

Motion by Commissioner Carl Buckner, second by Commissioner Randy Simpkins to approve the Quarterly Financial Reports-All Funds except Schools passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

RESOLUTIONS:

02-2024-01 RESOLUTION TO SET SPEED LIMIT ON PUBLIC ROAD KNOWN AS EARL LEACH ROAD

This Resolution is to reduce the Speed Limit to **20** MPH on Public Road known as Earl Leach Road that extends from State Highway **48** (TN-48) to Woods Road. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Cindi Gray to approve the Speed Limit of **20** MPH on Earl Leach Road passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

02-2024-02 RESOLUTION TO SET SPEED LIMIT ON PUBLIC ROAD KNOWN AS CINDER ROAD

This Resolution is to set the Speed Limit on Public Road known as Cinder Road to **20** MPH. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Cindi Gray to approve the Speed Limit of **20** MPH on Cinder Road passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

02-2024-03 RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE DONATION OF SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT VEHICLE TO DICKSON COUNTY FIRE & RESCUE

This Resolution is to authorize the Donation of a retired vehicle, **2014** Ford Taurus, VIN number **1FAHP2MK0EG166240**, driven more than **170,000** miles to the Dickson County Fire & Rescue Squad to provide services within Dickson County. Motion by Commissioner Jody Britt, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to approve the Donation of a Sheriff's Department vehicle to the Dickson Fire & Rescue passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

02-2024-04 RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING A CONTINUOUS FIVE (5) YEAR REAPPRAISAL CYCLE

This Resolution is to authorize a continuous Five (5) Year Reappraisal Cycle. Motion by Commissioner Danny Williams, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to authorize a continuous Five (5) year Reappraisal Cycle passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

02-2024-05 RESOLUTION TO SET SPEED LIMIT ON PUBLIC ROAD KNOWN AS OLD HIGHWAY 48

This Resolution is to set the Speed Limit on Public Road known as Old Highway 48 that extends from State Highway 48 (TN-48) to Earl Leach Road to 35 MPH. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Cindi Gray to approve the Speed Limit of 35 MPH on Old Highway 48 passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Decision on Project Vulcan PILOT has not been decided, moved to the March meeting.

Other Business:

- 1. Motion by Commissioner Cindi Gray, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to move the R-3 Residential District Revisions to the March 18, 2024 meeting passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.
- 2. Motion by Commissioner James C. Dawson, second by Commissioner Ray Ledger to move **Amendment Article 4, Section 4.016**, Queuing Requirements for Drive-Through Facilities to the **March 18, 2024** meeting passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.
- 3. Motion by Commissioner Cindi Gray, second by Commissioner Randy Simpkins to move the **Amendments to Article 3, Article 4 & 5** for Renewable Energy Facilities to the **March 18, 2024** meeting passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Approval of Notaries:

The following Notaries have been submitted for approval:

Bryan Baty Tina A. Berry Richard Bogle

Janet Hanna Jenny Heath Daniel R. Henderson

Jennifer Hudgins Robert D. Kowalczyk Dana B. Marlow

Jo Ann Selke Jeffrey Steven Wynn

Motion by Commissioner Carl Buckner, second by Commissioner Randy Simpkins to accept and approve the above listed Notaries passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Announcements:

1. The next Regular Session meeting will be on **Monday, March 18, 2024 at 7:00 P.M**. in the Buford L (Booty) Reed Jr. County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Administration Building, 4 Court Square, Charlotte, Tennessee .

Adjournment:

1.	Motion a	nd second	by all in at	tendance to	o adjourn	at 7:21	P.M.	passed	by a	unanimo	us aye
vo	ice vote.										

Respectfully submitted,
County Clerk, Luanne Greer
Chairman, County Mayor, Bob Rial