MINUTES OF THE DICKSON COUNTY COMMISSION

The Dickson County Commission met September 19, 2022 at 7:00 P.M. for the regular scheduled meeting in the Buford L. (Booty) Reed, Jr. County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Administration Building, 4 Court Square, Dickson, Tennessee. Flag salute led by County Mayor, Bob Rial. Devotion led by Commissioner Mike Petty.

Becky Spicer

Roll Call: County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Present: Randy Simpkins Ray Ledger

James C. Dawson

Dwight McIllwain Stacey Batey

Carl Buckner Jody Britt

Mike Petty Danny Williams

Rusty Grove Cindi Gray

Absent: None

Motion by Commissioner Carl Buckner, second by Commissioner Rusty Grove to accept and approve the **August 15, 2022** County Commission minutes passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Committee Reports:

1. Removed from agenda by request of Mayor Landon Mathis.

Appointments:

1. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Jody Britt to approve the appointments of Mr. Chuck Boyd, Ms. Tiffany Dawson and Mr. Tony Adams to the **E911 Board** passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

RESOLUTIONS:

09-2022-01

RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE CERTAIN AMENDMENTS TO THE BUDGETS ESTABLISHED FOR THE COUNTY'S GENERAL PURPOSE SCHOOL FUND (FUND 141), FEDERAL PROJECTS FUND (FUND 142), AND/OR CENTRAL CAFETERIA FUND (FUND 143)

This fund is to authorize certain amendments to the budgets established for the County's General Purpose Fund (**Fund 141**), Federal Projects Fund (**Fund142**), and /or Central Cafeteria Fund (**Fund 143**). Motion by Commissioner Stacey Batey, second by Commissioner Ray Ledger to authorize certain amendments to the budgets established for the County's General Purpose School Fund (**Fund 141**), Federal Projects Fund (**Fund 142**) and /or Central Cafeteria Fund (**Fund 143**) passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

09-2022-02 RESOLUTION TO MODIFY LANDFILL TIPPING FEE IN RESPONSE TO PRICING BY WASTE MANAGEMENT INC. OF TENNESSEE TO ACCEPT, TRANSPORT AND DISPOSE OF THE COUNTY'S SOLID WASTE.

This Resolution is to modify the Landfill Tipping Fee in response to pricing by Waste Management Inc. of Tennessee to accept, transport and dispose of the county's solid waste. The contract with Waste Management includes an increase in fees of **2.5%** per year plus costs for **Class I** and **Class III** solid waste to be paid by the county for these services. Tipping Fee for **Class I** is increased from Forty Two Dollars and Eighty Seven Cents (\$42.87) per ton to Fifty Four Dollars (\$54.00) per ton. The Tipping Fee for **Class III** is increased from Thirty Two Dollars (\$32.00) per ton to Forty Dollars (\$40.00) per ton. Motion by Commissioner Mike Petty, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to modify the Landfill Tipping Fee in response to pricing by Waste Management Inc. of Tennessee to accept, transport and dispose of the county's solid waste passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

09-2022-03 RESOLUTION TO APPROVE RECYCLING & DISPOSAL CONTRACT

This Resolution is to approve a contract with Liberty Tire Recycling for the recycling of used tires. The fee for recycling services will be One Hundred Sixteen Dollars and Eighty Nine Cents (\$116.89) per ton plus a Thirty Four cent (\$0.34) fuel surcharge per mile and a Fifteen Dollar (\$15.00) environmental fee per load for a term of Three (3) years with an option to renew or extend for Two (2) additional One (1) year terms. Motion by Commissioner Stacey Batey, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to approve a contract with Liberty Tire Recycling for used tire disposal, recycling and transportation passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

09-2022-04 RESOLUTION TO INCREASE TIRE AND SCRAP RUBBER DISPOSAL RATE

This Resolution is to increase the Tire and Scrap Rubber disposal rate. It is recommended that the new rate be set at One Hundred Thirty Dollars and Eighty Six cents (\$130.86) per ton, except for new tire dealers who have paid the State of Tennessee Pre-Disposal Fee. It is recommended that the new rate be set at Fifty Nine Dollars and Thirty Four Cents (\$59.34) per ton for new tire dealers who have paid the State of Tennessee Pre-Disposal Fee. Motion by Commissioner Randy Simpkins, second by Commissioner Jody Britt to increase the Tire and Scrap Rubber disposal rates passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

09-2022-05 RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING COUNTY TO ACCEPT AWARD OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT PERFORMANCE GRANT.

This Resolution is to authorize the County to apply for and accept an Award of Emergency Management Performance Grant for a mobile "Command Vehicle". The estimated cost to establish and equip the vehicle is Thirty Nine Thousand Dollars (\$39,000.00). The Grant is in the amount of Ten Thousand Eight Hundred Seventy Five Dollars and Sixty Cents (\$10,875.60) on the condition the county match the Grant funding. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Danny Williams to authorize the county to accept an Award of Emergency Management Performance Grant passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

09-2022-06 RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE DONATION OF FIRE TRUCK TO LOCAL VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT.

This resolution is to authorize the donation of a Fire truck to a local Volunteer Fire Department. The **DCEMA** possesses a fire truck that has been recently used to support the education program at Creek Wood High School and has no longer a need for it. The only Volunteer Fire Department expressing interest has been the Harpeth Ridge Volunteer Fire Department. Motion by Commissioner Ray Ledger, second by Commissioner Stacey Batey to authorize the donation of a Fire Truck to the Harpeth Ridge Volunteer Fire Department passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

09-2022-07 RESOLUTION TO SET SPEED LIMIT ON PUBLIC ROAD KNOWN AS BRUCE ROAD

This Resolution is to set the speed limit on Bruce Road that lies between and intersects with West Piney Road and State Highway 48 South to Thirty (**30**) MPH. Motion by Commissioner Ray Ledger, second by Commissioner Jody Britt to set the speed limit of Thirty (**30**) MPH on Bruce Road passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

New Business:

1. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Cindi Gray for a Highway Department and Sheriff's Department study to determine the proper speed limit on Hogan Road beginning off Sanker Road passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Approval of Notaries:

The following Notaries were submitted for approval:

Courtney Nichole Allen Chase Aulidge

Neil E. Barnes Elizabeth D. Fleet

Jessica D. Hopper Brenda Howard

David M. Legg Calvin L. McMillan

Vicky Wright McMillen Karen Rebecca Petty

Karen Alexander Prather James D. R Roberts Jr.

MKathryn Jackson Roberts Sarah Spencer

Kimberly R. Snavely Hannah Joy Wall

L Janine Wine

Motion by Commissioner Cindi Gray, second by Commissioner Rusty Grove to accept and approve the above listed Notaries passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Α	n	n	^		n	c	۵	m	_	n	to	٠.
н	п	п	u	u	ш	L	-	ш	e	п	LS	٠.

1. The next Regular Session meeting will be on **Monday, October 17, 2022 at 7:00 P.M.** in the Buford L. (Booty) Reed, Jr. County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Administration Building, 4 Court Square, Charlotte, Tennessee.

Adjournment:

1. Motion and second by all in attendance to adjourn at 7:15 P.M. passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.
Respectfully submitted,
County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Chairman, County Mayor, Bob Rial