MINUTES OF THE DICKSON COUNTY COMMISSION

The Dickson County Commission met January 18, 2022 @7:00 P.M. for the regular scheduled meeting in the Dickson County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Courthouse, 4 Court Square, Charlotte, Tennessee. Chairman, County Mayor Bob Rial presiding and leading in the Flag Salute. Devotion led by Commissioner Randy Simpkins.

Roll Call:	County Clerk, Luanne Greer	
Present:	Randy Simpkins	Jeff Eby
	Dwight McIllwain	Stacey Batey
	James C. Dawson	Becky Spicer
	Carl Buckner	Clayton Ellis
	Danny Williams	Johnnie Reed
Absent:	Mike Petty	Linda Hayes

Motion by Commissioner Stacey Batey, second by Commissioner Clayton Ellis to accept and approve the **December 20, 2021** County Commission minutes passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Committee Reports: None

"Public Hearings"

1. Revise Zoning Resolution **5.041** Subsection **E-4** (Changes lot size requirement from One (1) acre lot to One & One Half (1.5) acre lot.

2. Revise Zoning Resolution **5.041** Subsection **E-5** (Changes lot width at building setback from One Hundred (**100**) feet to One Hundred Sixty (**160**) feet.

3. Amend Rezoning Resolution **3.030** to add Subsection **E** (Any new subdivision lot which abuts an existing county road or highway must have at least One Hundred Sixty (**160**) feet of road frontage.

The following citizens spoke during the "Public Hearing" related to the revised zoning issues:

Each person was given Five (5) minutes to speak.

Mr. Bill Joyce, Ms. Debra Rosenthall, Ms. Tina Harris, Ms. Kanta Masters, Mr. Michael Pate, Ms. Marcia Williams, Mr. Bryan Hill, Mr. Dennis Holz, Ms. Cynthia Hernandez, Ms. Barbara Hall, Mr. R.J. Commer, and Mr. David Ford. Most of these individuals were for the rezoning. Many stated that they would like the County Commission to review these issues and adjust acreage, zoning, ect.

Elections:

1. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to approve the re-election of Ms. Scarlett McMeen and Commissioner Randy Simpkins to the Agricultural Extension Committee passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

RESOLUTIONS:

01-2022-01 A RESOLUTION ACCEPTING THE 2022 DICKSON COUNTY ROAD REPORT

This Resolution is to accept the **2022** Dickson County Road Report. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Johnnie Reed to accept the **2022** Dickson County Road Report passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

01-2022-02 RESOLUTION TO AMEND THE ZONING RESOLUTION OF DICKSON COUNTY

This Resolution is to amend the Zoning Resolution of Dickson County. Either the Planning Commission or the County Planning Director shall require that a traffic impact study, prepared by a licensed traffic engineer, be submitted for any development in excess of **25,000** square feet of floor space, any major subdivision consisting of Fifty (**50**) or more lots, One hundred Fifty (**150**) or more new traffic trips to and from the proposed development per day, any major subdivision when connecting to state route with a speed limit greater than Thirty (**30**) MPH, or any planned unit development, in order to insure safety of the public. Motion by Commissioner Danny Williams, second by Commissioner Jeff Eby to amend the Zoning Resolution of Dickson County passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Other Business:

The Commissioners discussed these rezoning issues.

1. Commissioner Danny Williams proposed to form a committee to work on growth and land management plans to be reviewed. Motion by Commissioner Danny Williams to propose to put off decision and form a Community Committee to review areas of the County, Second by Commissioner Stacey Batey.

2. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby in favor of moving these approvals to a later time to delay until plan is developed, Second by Commissioner James C. Dawson.

3. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby to delay till after an appointed Committee has reviewed, Second by Commissioner James C. Dawson.

4. Motion by Jeff Eby a proposal to also delay, Second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain.

1. First Reading. Revise Zoning Resolution **5.041** Subsection **E-4** (Changes lot size requirement from One (1) acre to One & One Half (1.5) acre lot.) Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby, second by Commissioner James C. Dawson to delay and set up a Planning Committee passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

2. First Reading. Revise Zoning Resolution **5.041** Subsection **E-5** (Change lot width at building setback from One Hundred (**100**) feet to One Hundred Sixty (**160**) feet.) Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby, Second by Commissioner James C. Dawson to delay and set up Planning Committee passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

3. First Reading. Amend Rezoning Resolution **3.030** to add subsection **E** (Any new subdivision lot which abuts an existing county road or highway must have at least One Hundred Sixty (**160**) feet of road frontage. Motion by Commission Jeff Eby, Second by Commissioner James C. Dawson to delay and set up Planning Committee passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

4. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to approve the Three (**3**) Star program for Three (**3**) Star Grants passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Approval of Notaries:

The following Notaries were submitted by County Clerk, Luanne Greer for approval:

Linda S. Askins Phillip Grigsby William F. Knowles Linda Overby

F W Rose

Nora Mary Gilgallon Keek Doretha J. Payne Katrina Y Wall

Cynthia Dawn Zwingle

Valerie L Sawyer

Motion by Commissioner Carl Buckner, second by Commissioner Johnnie Reed to accept and approve the above listed notaries passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Announcements:

1. The next Regular Session meeting will be on **Tuesday, February 22, 2022** *@* **7:00 P.M.** in the Buford L. (Booty) Reed, Jr County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Administration Building, 4 Court Square, Charlotte, Tennessee.

Adjournment:

1. Motion and second by all in attendance to adjourn at **8:15 P.M.** passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Chairman, County Clerk, Bob Rial