MINUTES OF THE DICKSON COUNTY COMMISSION

The Dickson County Commission met on November 16, 2020 @7:00 P.M. for the regular scheduled meeting in the Dickson County Courthouse, Charlotte, Tennessee. Chairman, County Mayor Bob Rial presiding and leading in the flag salute. Devotion led by Commissioner Carl Buckner.

Roll Call: County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Present: Randy Simpkins Jeff Eby

> Dwight McIllwain **Stacey Batey Becky Spicer** Johnnie Reed Carl Buckner Clayton Ellis

Danny Williams

David Shepard

Linda Hayes

Absent: James C. Dawson

Motion by Commissioner Linda Hayes, second by Commissioner Johnnie Reed to accept and approve the October 19, 2020 County Commission minutes passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Committee Reports:

- 1. Ag Committee met last week. Included info openings on committee.
- 2. Judicial Committee renamed all serving magistrates.
- 3. Motion by Commissioner Linda Hayes, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to place Judicial Commissioners at next meeting, they are Mr. Shane Chandler, Mr. Michael Adams, Mr. Terry Haynes and Ms. Kendra Clayborne passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

"Public Hearing"

1. Rezoning request for JDF Properties-Tax map 111, Part of Parcel 197, Hwy 47, former location of Camp Christian, Burns, Tennessee from C-1 (Commercial) to A-1 (Agricultural). No one present to speak for or against.

Appointments:

1. Motion by Commissioner Stacey Batey, second by Commissioner Danny Williams to approve the re-appointment of Mr. David Smith to the Board of Planning and Zoning passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

New Business:

- 1. Motion by Commissioner Randy Simpkins, second by Commissioner David Shepard to approve the Quarterly Reports-All Funds except schools, quarter ending **September 30, 2020** passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.
- 2. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Johnnie Reed to accept and approve the new Holiday List for **2021** passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.
- 3. Borrowing item listed moved to the **December 14, 2020** meeting.

RESOLUTIONS:

11-2020-01

A RESOLUTION TO AMEND THE ZONING RESOLUTION OF DICKSON COUNTY, TENNESSEE, ARTICLE VII, FLOODPLAIN ZONING DISTRICT, FOR REGULATING DEVELOPMENT WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF DICKSON COUNTY, TENNESSEE LOCATED IN IDENTIFIED SPECIAL FLOOD HAZARD AREAS, TO MINIMIZE DANGER TO LIFE AND PROPERTY DUE TO FLOODING, AND TO MAINTAIN ELIGIBILITY FOR PARTCIPATION IN THE NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE PROGRAM.

This Resolution, second and final reading, is to amend the zoning Resolution of Dickson County, Tennessee, **Article VII**, Floodplain Zoning District, for regulating development within the jurisdiction of Dickson County, Tennessee and special flood hazard areas, to minimize danger to life and property due to flooding and to maintain eligibility for participation in the National Flood Insurance Program. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Danny Williams to amend the Zoning Resolution of Dickson County, Tennessee, **Article VII**, Flood Plain to minimize danger to life and property due to flooding, and to participate in the National Flood Insurance Program passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

11-2020-02 R

RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE CERTAIN AMENDMENTS TO ALL FUNDS OF THE COUNTY'S BUDGET EXCEPTING ONLY THE FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR SCHOOLS.

This Resolution is to authorize certain amendments to all funds of the county's budget excepting only funds established for schools. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner David Shepard to authorize certain amendments to All Funds of the County's Budget excepting only the Funds established for schools passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

11-2020-03 RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE DICKSON COUNTY TO APPLY FOR A \$20,835.00 GRANT THROUGH THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY & HOMELAND SECURITY TO BE USED TO EXPAND AND ENHANCE THE COUNTY'S EMERGENCY RESPONSE CAPABILITIES.

This Resolution is to authorize Dickson County to apply for a Twenty Thousand Eight Hundred Thirty Five Dollar (\$20,835.00) **100**% reimbursement Grant through Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security to be used to expand and enhance the County's Emergency Response capabilities. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to authorize the County to apply for a \$20,835.00 Grant through the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security to be used to expand and enhance the County's Emergency Response Capabilities passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

11-2020-04 RESOLUTION TO SET SPEED LIMIT ON COUNTY ROADS KNOWN AS "HARMON SPRINGS ROAD" AND "FAIRVIEW ROAD"

This Resolution is to set speed limit of **35MPH** on county roads known as "Harmon Springs Road" and "Fairview Road". Motion by Commissioner Danny Williams, second by Commissioner David Shepard to set speed limit of **35MPH** on "Harmon Springs Road" and "Fairview Road" passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

11-2020-05 RESOLUTION TO RENAME A PORTION OF COUNTY ROAD KNOWN AS "PRUETT ROAD" TO "E. PRUETT ROAD".

This Resolution is to rename a portion of county road known as "Pruett Road" to "E. Pruett Road" to run the entire length of the road that runs East of CCC Road. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby, second by Commissioner Stacey Batey to approve renaming a portion of "Pruett Road" to "E. Pruett Road" passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Other Business:

1. Motion by Carl Buckner, second by Commissioner Johnnie Reed to approve moving the rezoning request for JDF Properties-Tax map 111, Part of Parcel 197, Hwy 47, Burns, Tennessee from C-1 (Commercial) to A-1 (Agricultural) passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Approval of Notaries:

The following Notaries were submitted by County Clerk, Luanne Greer for approval:

Lesa J. Fielder Kerri L. Greer Susan Mildred Jones

Jennifer Rene Porter Jordan Blake Osburn Teresa Overton

Lynn Cummins Wright

Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to approve the above listed Notaries passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Announcements:
1. The next County Commission meeting will be on Monday, December 14, 2020 at 7:00 P.M . in the Buford L. (Booty) Reed, Jr. County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Courthouse, 4 Court Square, Charlotte, Tennessee.
Motion/second by all in attendance to adjourn at 7:13 P.M . passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.
Respectfully submitted,
County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Chairman, County Mayor, Bob Rial