### MINUTES OF THE DICKSON COUNTY COMMISSION

The Dickson County Commission met August 17, 2020 @ 7:00 P.M. for the regular scheduled meeting in the Dickson County Courthouse, Charlotte, Tennessee. Chairman, County Mayor Bob Rial presiding. Devotion led by Commissioner Clayton Ellis.

Roll Call: County Clerk, Luanne Greer

**Present:** Randy Simpkins Jeff Eby

Dwight McIllwain Stacey Batey

James C. Dawson Becky Spicer

Carl Buckner Clayton Ellis

David Shepard Jeff Corlew

Linda Hayes

Motion by Commissioner Linda Hayes, second by Commissioner Jeff Corlew to accept and approve the **July 27, 2020** County Commission minutes passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

**Committee Reports:** Agricultural Meeting was held by phone due to the Covid 19 virus.

## **Appointments:**

1. Motion by Commissioner Clayton Ellis, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to approve the re-appointment of Mr. Jason Epley to a Three (3) year term on the Sanitation Board passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

## "Public Hearing"

Public Hearing on the Tax Rate levy, remaining the same Two Dollars Thirty Five Cents (\$2.35). There were no comments.

## 08-2020-01 RESOLUTION TO ACCEPT AND APPROVE COUNTY TRUSTEE'S REPORT OF ERRORS AND DOUBLE ASSESSMENTS.

On occasion, there are certain errors or double assessments identified by the County Assessor of Property and/or Trustee, being errors and assessments to be corrected. Requiring fiscal year end refunds to be made. Motion by Commissioner Linda Hayes, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to approve the County Trustee's report of errors and double assessments passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

# 08-2020-02 RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH A PROGRAM TO SUPPLEMENT THE PROPERTY TAX RELIEF PROGRAM OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE PROVIDED FOR IN TITLE 67, CHAPTER 5, PART 7 OF THE TENNESSEE CODE ANNOTATED.

The State of Tennessee, through its General Assembly, has established a program whereby elderly low-income homeowners, disabled homeowners and disabled Veterans are provided financial assistance through a refund of property taxes paid for by a state appropriation. Motion by Commissioner David Shepard, second by Commissioner James C. Dawson to establish a program to supplement the Property Tax Relief Program of the State of Tennessee provided for in **Title 67, Chapter 5**, **Part 7** of the Tennessee Code Annotated passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

# 08-2020-03 A RESOLUTION MAKING APPRORIATIONS FOR THE VARIOUS FUNDS, DEPARTMENTS, INSTITUTIONS, OFFICES AND AGENCIES OF DICKSON COUNTY, TENNESSEE, FOR THE YEAR BEGINNING JULY 1, 2020 AND ENDING JUNE 30, 2021.

This Resolution makes appropriations for the various funds, departments, institutions, offices and agencies of Dickson County, Tennessee, for the year beginning July 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2021. Motion by Commissioner Randy Simpkins, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to approve the Resolution making appropriations for various funds, departments, institutions, offices and agencies of Dickson Tennessee, for the year beginning July 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2021 passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

# 08-2020-04 RESOLUTION MAKING APPROPRIATIONS TO NON-PROFIT CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS OF DICKSON COUNTY, TENNESSEE FOR THE YEAR BEGINNING JULY 1, 2020 AND ENDING JUNE 30, 2021.

This resolution makes appropriations to Non-Profit Organizations of Dickson County, Tennessee, beginning **July 1, 2020** and ending **June 30, 2021**. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Linda Hayes to approve the appropriations to Non-Profit organizations of Dickson County, Tennessee for the year beginning **July 1, 2020** and ending **June 30, 2021** passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

## 08-2020-05 RESOLUTION FIXING TAX LEVY IN DICKSON COUNTY, TENNESSEE FOR YEAR BEGINNING JULY 1, 2020.

This resolution is to fix the Tax Levy Rate in Dickson County, Tennessee beginning **July 1**, **2020** and ending **June 30**, **2021** as Two Dollars Thirty Five Cents (\$2.35) on each One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) of taxable property. Motion by Commissioner Linda Hayes, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to approve the Tax Rate Levy in Dickson County, Tennessee for year beginning **July 1**, **2020** and ending **June 30**, **2021** as Two Dollars Thirty Five cents (\$2.35) on each One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) of taxable property passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

## 08-2020-6 RESOLUTION EXPRESSING OPPOSITION TO ESTABLISHMENT AND OPERATION OF FUEL TERMINAL ALONG HOGAN ROAD.

This Resolution is to express opposition to the establishment and operation of a Fuel Terminal along Hogan Road. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Corlew, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to approve the Resolution expressing opposition to the establishment and operation of a Fuel Terminal along Hogan Road passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

# 08-2020-07 RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTION, TERMS, ISSUANCE, SALE, AND PAYMENT OF NOT TO EXCEED \$2,720,000 GENERAL OBLIGATION REFUNDING BONDS, SERIES 2020, OF DICKSON COUNTY, TENNESSEE, AND PROVIDING THE DETAILS THEREOF.

General Obligation Capital Outlay Note, **Series 2017**, in the original principal amount of Three Million Dollars (\$3,000,000.00) which is currently outstanding in the amount of Two Million Seven Hundred Twenty Dollars (\$2,720,000.00) and matures **December 1, 2020** for the purpose of financing the renovation, repair, of such building to be used as a Library and County Offices for the county. It is the best interest of the County to now refund the **Series 2017** Note prior to its maturity in order to provide longer term financing for the project. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Corlew, second by Commissioner Jeff Eby to authorize the refunding of **Series 2017** Note prior to its maturity in order to provide longer term financing passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Motion by Commissioner Carl Buckner, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to suspend the rules.

#### 08-2020-08 RESOLUTION TO SET SPEED LIMIT ON COUNTY ROAD KNOW AS "OLD YELLOW CREEK ROAD."

This Resolution is to set the speed limit on County Road known as "Old yellow Creek Road" to Thirty Five (35) MPH and in favor of prohibiting tractor trailer trucks from traveling on "Old Yellow Creek Road." Motion by Commissioner Carl Buckner, second by Commissioner Dwight McIlwwain to set the set speed limit on "Old Yellow Creek Road" to Thirty Five (35) MPH and prohibit tractor trailer trucks from traveling on this road passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

#### **Other Business:**

1. Motion by Commissioner David Shepard, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to Ratify Private Act to designate the General Sessions Clerk over Juvenile passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

### **Approval of Notaries:**

The following Notaries were submitted by County Clerk, Luanne Greer for approval:

Alexzandria Baker Brendan J. Deal Pamela J. Edwards
Christie Harrington Charley M. Holcomb Amanda C. Hyatt
Ashley Kelso Kim Krantz April M. Mangrum
Brooke M. Mattox Barbara F. Neblett Allison Nicole Nokes
Rebecca D. Pierce Anna L. Purdie Kendall W. Regen

Colleen T. Sharp

Motion by Commissioner David Shepard, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to approve the above listed Notaries passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

#### **Announcements:**

- 1. Mr. Ragan distributed Mr. Burgess's office's report regarding the weight limit capacity of Hogan and two Mile Roads. Mr. Ragan instructed the Commission to review for a discussion later on.
- 2. The next regular session meeting will be on **Monday, September 21, 2020 @ 7:00 P.M.** Instructions on attendance will be posted in advance of the meeting on the County's Website Calendar and Facebook page.

Motion, second by all in attendance to adjourn @ 7:40 P.M. passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,	
County Clerk, Luanne Greer	
Chairman, County Mayor, Bob Ri	 al