## MINUTES OF THE DICKSON COUNTY COMMISSION

The Dickson County Commission met July 27, 2020 @ 7:00 P.M. for the regular scheduled meeting in the Dickson County Courthouse, Charlotte, Tennessee. Chairman, County Mayor Bob Rial presiding and leading in the flag salute. Devotion led by County Mayor, Chairman Bob Rial.

Roll Call:County Clerk, Luanne GreerPresent:Randy SimpkinsJeff EbyDwight McIllwainStacey BateyJeff CorlewBecky SpicerCarl BucknerClayton EllisDavid ShepardJeff CorlewLinda Hayes (attending via remote)

Absent: James C. Dawson

Motion by Commissioner David Shepard, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to accept and approve the **June 22, 2020** County Commission minutes passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Committee Reports: None

### **Appointments:**

1. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Corlew, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to approve the re-appointment of Commissioner James C. Dawson to the Regional Solid Waste Planning Board passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

2. Motion by Commissioner Randy Simpkins, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to approve the re-appointments of Mr. Kenny Crow and Mr. Mike Walters to the Audit Committee passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

#### **RESOLUTIONS:**

## 07-2020-01 RESOLUTION TO SET WEIGHT LIMIT ON PORTION OF PUBLIC ROADS KNOWN AS TWO MILE ROAD AND HOGAN ROAD

This Resolution is to set the weight limit on portion of Public Roads known as Two Mile Road and Hogan Road. The Legislative Body has determined the width and construction of Two Mile Road is not adequate to support industrial truck traffic to include 18-wheel tanker trucks. This body has also concluded that the width and construction of Hogan Road is not adequate to support industrial truck traffic and to include 18-wheel tanker trucks. Motion by Commissioner Stacey Batey, second by Commissioner David Shepard to Amend the resolution to add forestry equipment, Farm trucks & farm equipment to exempt vehicles relating to the weight limit passed by a unanimous aye voice vote. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to Amed the Resolution to add county vehicles and county equipment to the exempt vehicles relating to the weight limit passed by a unanimous aye voice vote. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to set a Twenty Five (25) ton maximum weight limit on Two Mile Road passed by a Seven (7) aye voice vote, with Three (3) nay votes by Commissioner Randy Simpkins, Commissioner Clayton Ellis and Commissioner Linda Hayes. The Legislative Body for the County of Dickson, Tennessee establishes a gross maximum weight limit of Twenty five (25) tons, and a gross maximum weight limit for motor vehicles traveling on Hogan Road of Twenty Five (25) Tons located within the County. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Eby, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to set the final approval of weight limits on portion of Public Roads known as Two Mile Road and Hogan Road passed with a unanimous aye voice vote.

### 07-2020-02 RESOLUTION TO SET SPEED LIMIT ON COUNTY ROAD KNOW AS "GARTON ROAD"

This Resolution is to set the speed limit of Thirty Five (**35**) MPH along the entire length of Garton Road. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner David Shepard to set the speed limit on the entire length of Garton Road to Thirty Five (**35**) MPH passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

#### 07-2020-03 RESOLUTION TO RELEASE OPTION TO PURCHASE CERTAIN REAL PROPERTY

This resolution is to release the option to purchase certain real property consisting of **6.02** acres of unimproved industrial property located in the County's Industrial Park. Subject property by the county to the IDB was by quick claim deed of **Record Book V1367, Page 316**, in the Dickson County Register's Office. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Corlew, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to release the option to purchase certain real property located in the Dickson County Industrial Park passed by a unanimous Roll Call vote as Commissioner Linda Hayes had a remote hearing issue and her vote was not heard.

# 07-2020-04 RESOLUTION TO APPROVE TERMS OF SALE OF CERTAIN COUNTY-OWNED SURPLUS REAL PROPERTY

This Resolution is to approve the terms of sale of certain County-owned surplus real property **Map 111A, Group A, Parcel 001.01,** consisting of approximately **4.30** acres, located at **204** Henslee Drive, Dickson, Tennessee (the "Library/Old Bell South property"). Notice was published and in response received Three (**3**) sealed bids. The highest bid was from Mr. Gary Daniel in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty Five Thousand and no Dollars. (\$625,000.00). Motion by Commissioner David Shepard, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to accept the bid from Mr. Gary Daniel passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

# 07-2020-05 RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE COUNTY TO ENTER INTO CONTRACT WITH DICKSON OFFICE SUPPLY FOR LEASE COPIER

This Resolution is to authorize the County to enter into a contract with Dickson Office Supply for a New Copystar **3212i** lease copier for the Election Commission. The lease calls for a lease term of Sixty (**60**) months with monthly lease payments of One Hundred Twenty One Dollars (\$121.00) with an allowance of Four Thousand (4,000) copies/prints per month. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Carl Bucker to authorize the lease of a New Copystar **3212i** copier passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

## **Other Business:**

**1.** Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to accept the resignation of Dickson County Sheriff Jeff Bledsoe passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

2. Presentation by GM/CEO Mr. Darrell Gillespie of Dickson Electric System relating to Broadband construction within the County.

## **Approval of Notaries:**

The following Notaries were submitted by County Clerk, Luanne Greer for approval:

Lauren N. Alberd	Allison Baker
Deborah L. Barber	Vivian C. Cantrell
Melissa Church	Leslie Daniel
Kalisa Hafner	Michelle E. Hall
Sandra Harrington	Tabatha M. Hodges
Tammy E. Kilgore	Bia Sarah Mena
Vicki Owen	Elaine K Reller

Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Jeff Corlew to approve the above listed Notaries passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

### Announcements:

1. The next Regular Session meeting will be on **Monday, August 17, 2020 @ 7:00 P.M.** in the Buford L. (Booty) Reed, Jr. County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Courthouse, 4 Court Square, Charlotte, Tennessee.

2. The next County Agricultural Extension Committee will meet **Monday, August 10, 2020 @ 7:00 PM** via Zoom. The meeting link invitation will be sent to committee members and will be shared with other interested individuals upon request.

Motion and second by all in attendance to adjourn @ 8:26 P.M. passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Chairman, County Mayor, Bob Rial