MINUTES OF THE DICKSON COUNTY COMMISSION

The Dickson County Commission met January 21, 2020 @ 7:00 P.M. for the regular scheduled meeting in the Dickson County Courthouse, Charlotte, Tennessee. Chairman Bob Rial presiding. Devotion led by Commissioner Randy Simpkins.

Roll Call: County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Present:	Randy Simpkins	Jeff Eby
	Dwight McIllwain	Stacey Batey
	James C. Dawson	Becky Spicer
	Carl Buckner	Clayton Ellis
	David Shepard	Jeff Corlew
	Linda Hayes	Jeff Spencer

Absent: None

Motion by Commissioner Linda Hayes, second by Commissioner James C. Dawson to accept and approve the **December 16, 2019** County Commission minutes passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Committee Reports: None

Elections:

1. Agricultural Extension Committee:

Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to approve the election of Ms. Scarlett McMeen and Mr. Randy Simpkins to a First Term passed by a unanimous aye voice vote. Motion by Commissioner Becky Spicer, second by Commissioner Carl Buckner to approve the re-election of Ms. Tamara Manley to a Second Term passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Appointments:

1. Motion by Commissioner David Shepard, second by Commissioner Linda Hayes to approve the re-appointments of Mayor Don Weiss, Mr. Mike Easley and Mr. Robert Speight to the Industrial Development Board passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

2. Motion by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain, second by Commissioner Becky Spicer to approve the Three (**3**) Year Term re-appointments of Mr. Shane Chandler, **District 3**, Mr. Robert Qualls, **District 5** and Mr. Robert Comer, **District 12**, to the Planning Commission passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

RESOLUTIONS

01-2020-01 A RESOLUTION ACCEPTING THE 2020 DICKSON COUNTY ROAD REPORT

This Resolution is to accept the **2020** Dickson County Road Report prepared by the Dickson County Highway Department in order to assist the public by keeping on file a summary of all Dickson County roads currently being maintained by the Dickson County Highway Department. Motion by Commissioner Randy Simpkins, second by Commissioner Jeff Eby to approve the **2020** Dickson County Road Report passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

01-2020-02 RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF AN APPLICATION FOR US DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE'S ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AGENCY (EDA), ECONOMIC ADJUSTMENT ASSISTANCE (EAA) DISASTER RECOVERY PROGRAM FUNDS.

This Resolution is to support an application for the U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Agency (EDA), Economic Adjustment Assistance (EAA) Disaster Recovery Program Funds. This program provides grant funds to local governments in regions experiencing severe economic distress resulting from natural disasters occurring in calendar year **2018**, and floods or tornados occurring in calendar year **2019**. The County desires to apply for grand funds through the EDA and EAA in the amount not to exceed \$1,500,000.00 that is funded up to **80%** by the EDA. The County will only proceed with grant if the County's matching funds are provided by a source other than the County. Motion by Commissioner Jeff Corlew, second by Commissioner Linda Hayes to approve the application for U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Agency (EDA), and Economic Adjustment assistance (EAA) Disaster Recovery Funds passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

01-2020-03 RESOLUTION TO CONFIRM APPOINTMENT OF KYLE MOORE, M.D., AS COUNTY MEDICAL EXAMINER

This Resolution is to confirm the appointment of Doctor Kyle Moore as the County Medical Examiner for a Five (**5**) year term. Motion by Commissioner David Shepard, second by Commissioner Jeff Corlew to approve the appointment of Doctor Kyle Moore for a Five (**5**) year term as the County Medical Examiner passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Other Business: None

Approval of Notaries:

The following Notaries were submitted by the County Clerk, Luanne Greer for approval:Melinda D. BradfordJayme L. CalhounCarieann CervantesMarissa J. FurlineMeghan HargisRichard C. HinsonMichelle L. MorrisSarah MosleyKaitlin RettigKatie ThomasElizabeth WilsonKate Sarah Mosley

Motion by Commissioner Linda Hayes, second by Commissioner Dwight McIllwain to accept and approve of the above listed Notaries passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Announcements:

1. Commissioner Randy Simpkins reminded all Commissioners about filing their statements of interests.

- 2. Library is nearing completion, Goal is to be in the building by **Monday, February 3, 2020**. The meeting Room open by **March 1, 2020**. Grand opening **Tuesday, September 8, 2020**.
- The next Regular Sessions meeting of the Dickson County Commission will be on Tuesday, February 18, 2020 @ 7:00 P.M. in the Buford L. (Booty) Reed, Jr. County Commission Chamber of the Dickson County Courthouse, 4 Court Square, Charlotte, Tennessee.

Motion and second by all in attendance to adjourn at **7:25 P.M**. passed by a unanimous aye voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

County Clerk, Luanne Greer

Chairman, County Mayor, Bob Rial